5 Pillars of Islam

13 Sep

5 Pillars of Islamic religion are obligatory duties which the believer must perform in order to live responsible and righteous life according to Islam. Muslims believe that fulfillment of these precepts will bring rewards not only in this life, but in the afterlife. The five Pillars like five rules are the main base of Muslim’s life. 5 Pillars of Islam aren’t listed in the Koran, but were known from Hadith of the Prophet. Most of Muslims agrees with it’s elements and follows this rules. Each of five actions demands internal spiritual dedication and an external sign of intention (niit), as well as the correct completion of each action. The pillars are observed by all Muslim religious trends, but some sects add new obligatory duties, for example the prevention of evil or the encouraging of good deeds.


The Five Pillars of Islam are*:

  1. The declaration of faith containing confession of monotheism and recognition of prophetical mission of Mahomed (Shahada);

The basic Muslim statement is: “There is the only God – Allah and Muhamma is his messenger ”. The believers should say it in Arabic and, what is more important, wholeheartedly.

  1. Five daily prayers (Salah)

It is obligatory for a Muslim to perform the prayer 5 times a day and follow the exact prayer times.

  1. Fasting during the month (Sawm)

Fasting during the Ramadan (the 9-th month of Islamic calendar) is obligatory for Muslims.

  1. The religious tax in favor of needy (Zakat)

Alms are the main activity in Islamic religion.

  1. Pilgrimage to Mecca (Hajj)

Each Muslim’s dream is the pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia to Mecca and Medina. There is the Muhammad’s grave in Medina, and in Mecca — the Kaaba (the main shrine of Islam).

*Some religious groups have added other elements to five pillars and modified them. The 6-th pillar is called Jihad which means “fight against own passions”.

Leave a Reply